Back Top
News Outlook Equal Pay Day Observed on February 21, 2017, Two Days Earlier Than Last Year

In order to raise public awareness for equal pay for men and women, the Ministry of Labor has once again announced Equal Pay Day for this year. Since average salaries for different genders depend on a number of factors such as nature of the job, seniority, qualification,experience, and job performance, the Ministry is calling on all sectors to work together in narrowing the gender pay gap.

Taiwan's Equal Pay Day is based on the Employee Salary Survey conducted by the Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics ,Executive Yuan and reflects the number of days women must additionally work in the current year to earn the same amount as what men did in the previous year. In 2016, women earned an average hourly salary of NT$264.6, 86% of men's hourly rate of NT$307.7. The gender pay gap was 14%. In other words, women need to work 52 days more than men to receive the same total annual salary. Using this formula, it was determined that Equal Pay Day fell on February 21 for 2017, two days earlier than February 23 of the previous year and marking a slight reduction in the gender pay gap.

Over the past decade, the gender pay gap for average hourly salaries has fallen from 18.8% in 2006 to 14% in 2016, and the extra number of days women have to work has reduced from 69 days to 52 days. The average gender pay gap decreased 4.8 percentage points or 17 working days.

Key words: Equal Pay Day, Average Hourly Rate, Gender Pay Gap

Dear Reader,
Thanks for your support for “Taiwan Labor Bi-Monthly E-News.” In order to understand exactly what you need, please help us answer the following questions after reading the article. Thanks for your cooperation. We wish you good health and all the best!

回頂端
我國106年同酬日為2月21日,較去年向前推進2天

為藉由節日喚起兩性同酬之公共意識,勞動部賡續公布我國同酬日,由於兩性平均薪資不僅因性別影響,也囿於工作性質、年資、學經歷、工作績效等因素致有差異,仍需各界共同為縮小兩性薪資差距而努力。

我國同酬日係依據行政院主計總處「受僱員工薪資調查」,以當年兩性平均時薪差距計算自隔年1月1日起女性需增加之工作日數。105年我國女性平均時薪264.6元,為男性307.7元之86%,兩性薪資差距為14%,換言之,女性較男性需多工作52天,才能達到整年總薪資相同,因此106年同酬日為2月21日,較去年2月23日向前推進2天,兩性薪資差距持續縮小。

近10年我國兩性平均時薪差距由95年18.8%下降至105年14%,亦即女性需增加工作天數由69天減少至52天,兩性平均薪資差距縮小4.8個百分點及減少17個工作天數。

關鍵字:同酬日、平均時薪、兩性薪資差距

親愛的勞工簡訊讀者:
感謝您對於「台灣勞工簡訊」的支持,為能更確實掌握您的需要,麻煩您看完此篇文章後協助回答下列問題,謝謝您的合作,並祝身體健康,事事順心。