Back Top
Policies & Regulations Workers Who Have Received Old-Age Benefits Can Still Enroll in Occupational Injury Insurance upon Return to Work

In order to strengthen the job security for senior and middle-age workers, the Ministry of Labor has ordered the loosening of previous restrictions on those receiving old-age benefits of labor insurance and those over 65 years of age receiving social security old-age benefits from civil servant and teacher insurance or military personnel insurance. Now, these workers can still apply for occupational injury insurance with their insured unit if they return to work.

The Ministry further explained that the above provisions were relaxed in order to promote reemployment of senior and middle-age workers, in consideration of the fact that many still need to work even after they have applied for old-age benefit. There exists the possibility of occupational injury regardless of the person's occupation. In many recent occupational accidents, victims involved were unable to claim occupational insurance payments, because they went back to work after having applied for labor pensions and their employers did not enroll them in the occupational injury insurance. The Ministry is therefore reminding insured units who employ such workers that these workers are still eligible for enrollment in the occupational injury insurance. This will ensure workers' rights to paid compensation for occupational injuries, while also reducing employers' burden with regards to compensation. This creates a win-win for both employees and employers.

The Ministry has continued to strengthen publicity efforts through various channels in order to prevent employers from not enrolling eligible workers because of unfamiliarity with the law. The Bureau of Labor Insurance has also taken the initiative to send out notices about the relevant regulations to insured units, in order to protect the interests of both employers and employees.

Key words: Senior and Middle-age Workers, old-age benefit, Occupational Injury Insurance

Dear Reader,
Thanks for your support for “Taiwan Labor Bi-Monthly E-News.” In order to understand exactly what you need, please help us answer the following questions after reading the article. Thanks for your cooperation. We wish you good health and all the best!

回頂端
勞工於領取老年給付後再從事工作,仍可參加職業災害保險

勞動部表示,為加強保障中高齡勞工的工作安全,已令釋放寬已領取勞工保險老年給付,或年逾65歲已請領公教人員保險、軍人保險等社會保險養老給付,再從事工作者,得由其投保單位辦理參加職業災害保險。

勞動部進一步說明,為促進中高齡勞工再就業,考量許多勞工朋友請領老年給付後,仍有繼續工作需要,不論其就業型態,皆有發生職業災害的可能,故放寬上述規定。鑑於近來發生數起職災意外事件,部分遭受災害的勞工朋友,因係領過勞保老年給付後再從事工作,而雇主並沒有為其辦理參加職災保險,導致無法請領職災保險給付。因此,勞動部特別呼籲,有僱用此類勞工的投保單位,可僅參加職災保險,一方面確保勞工職災給付權益,一方面也讓雇主得抵充職災補償責任,勞資雙方皆可受惠。

此外,勞動部為避免因雇主不熟悉法令,而未替渠等勞工辦理參加職災保險,除透過各種管道持續加強宣導外,勞工保險局亦主動寄發通知,提醒投保單位相關規定,以確保勞資雙方權益。

關鍵字:中高齡勞工、老年給付、職業災害保險

親愛的勞工簡訊讀者:
感謝您對於「台灣勞工簡訊」的支持,為能更確實掌握您的需要,麻煩您看完此篇文章後協助回答下列問題,謝謝您的合作,並祝身體健康,事事順心。