Back Top
Policies & Regulations Wage for Unused Annual Paid Leave Earned within Average Wage Calculation Period to be Included in Average Wage Calculation

According to Article 38 of the Labor Standards Act, if a worker has unused annual paid leave because of the termination of annual period or termination of contract, regardless of the reasons for the untaken leave, employers must pay wages to workers in accordance with the number of leave days remaining; if such wages were earned within the average wage calculation period, they shall be included in average wage calculations.

The Ministry of Labor explains that Article 2, Paragraph 4 of the Labor Standards Act stipulates that the "average wage” refers to the total wages for the six months preceding the day on which an event requiring that a computation be made occurs divided by the total number of days in that period. Meanwhile, "total wages" mentioned herein refers to the total amount of wages accrued in the six months preceding the day on a computation request took place. Therefore, whether wages shall be included in average wage calculations is based on whether the worker has exerted the right to claim wages.

Regarding the wages paid at the termination of annual period for the number of untaken annual paid leave days, because the wages are calculated for the whole year, the law does not definitely stipulate how much of these wages fall within the average wage calculation period. The calculation of average wages shall be jointly decided by employers and workers. In addition, when a worker still has unused annual paid leave because of the termination of contract, the wages the employer must pay for the unused leave is considered earned after contract termination and may therefore not be factored into average wage calculations.

Key words: Annual Paid Leave Wages, Average Wages

Dear Reader,
Thanks for your support for “Taiwan Labor Bi-Monthly E-News.” In order to understand exactly what you need, please help us answer the following questions after reading the article. Thanks for your cooperation. We wish you good health and all the best!

回頂端
勞工未休之特別休假工資,如屬平均工資計算期間內所取得者,即應計入平均工資計算

依《勞動基準法》第38條規定,勞工於年度終結或契約終止而未休之特別休假日數,不論未休原因為何,雇主即應發給勞工特別休假未休日數之工資;如屬平均工資計算期間內所取得者,即應計入平均工資計算。

勞動部說明,《勞動基準法》第2條第4款規定略以:「平均工資:謂計算事由發生之當日前6個月內所得工資總額除以該期間之總日數所得之金額。」,其中「工資總額」是指事由發生當日前6個月內所取得工資請求權之工資總額。所以,判斷工資是否應列入平均工資計算,是以勞工所取得之工資請求權,是否在事由發生之當日前6個月內取得作為認定之標準。

勞工沒有排定之特別休假日數,「年度終結」時雇主發給之未休日數工資,因為是勞工全年度未休假而工作之報酬,計算平均工資時,究竟有多少工資屬於平均工資之計算期間內,法無明定,由勞雇雙方協議決定之。另外,勞工於「契約終止」時還沒有休完特別休假,雇主所發給之特別休假未休日數工資,因為是屬於終止契約後所得之工資,得不併入平均工資計算。

關鍵字:特別休假工資、平均工資


親愛的勞工簡訊讀者:
感謝您對於「台灣勞工簡訊」的支持,為能更確實掌握您的需要,麻煩您看完此篇文章後協助回答下列問題,謝謝您的合作,並祝身體健康,事事順心。